Dewayne Wise's Amazing Catch That He Didn't Really Make
By: Rich McVey | 6/27/12, 8:55 AM EDT
In what seemed to be an amazing grab by Yankee outfielder Dewayne Wise last night as he lept into the left-field stands to snag a foul ball, turned out to be nothing more than a great acting job… or gross incompetence by the umpire. The ump, who called it an out, never asks to see the ball, not to mention there's a fan five feet away jumping up and down holding up the ball.
Later, the Indians Jack Hannahan, who hit the foul ball, points out to the ump that Wise didn't have the ball in his glove and the ump tosses him from the game. Hilarious. It'll likely be one of the greatest blown calls of all time. See for yourself.
Most Popular Articles
Sign Up For Our Newsletter
Get the latest news and find out what our Athlon Sports experts have to say each week.
Contests & Promotions
Athlon Sports Fantasy Racing!
Enter the Athlon Sports Fantasy Racing game. Just head over to athlon.myfantasyracing.com and register for your chance to win a chance to watch a 2014 race from the grandstands. You'll also have a chance to win other amazing prizes such as an autographed Kyle Busch helmet.